Red Rose Music Lancs News

Red Rose Music Lancs – Like a phoenix…

In session on BBC Introducing Lancashire with Sean McGinty

Dinosaur Pile Up in session on BBC Introducing Lancashire with Sean McGinty

This is long… sorry… no other way!

I’m Sean McGinty and I present BBC Introducing on BBC Radio Lancashire (8pm til 10pm on a Saturday night) and I was really sad when I heard Red Rose Music was no longer going to be actively showcasing local music, creatives and writers.

So I contacted them and asked if I could take over the site for a short time and try to get it running in a sustainable way. Possibly as part of a cooperative model. They said yes. So, thanks to Andy, Sam and Joel for creating a site for Lancashire music. I hope I can keep your good work going.

Firstly, this is a non commercial venture to further opportunities for musicians, content creators etc and to showcase artists, venues, gigs, nights etc in Lancashire.

What do I mean content creators? It could be podcasts, pictures, short films, videos, music, fashion, art and probably other things I can’t think of just now.

I’ve been going on now for a long time about the importance of documenting the local creative and musical scene so now, at last, I am trying to find a good way of doing it. With your help of course.

I hear on the BBC Uploader every week how Lancashire produces great artists but there often isn’t the help for them in terms of advice, resources or the music industry infrastructure.

My goal is to make this Red Rose Music Blog busy and to use it to unite creative and musical types in Lancashire and see what else we can make happen. The focus is working together to promote what you all do and allow talented people to get some training and experience of producing web content.

So, if you write, take pics, make music, record music erm… etc then do get in touch with me by email:

redrosecooperative(at)gmail.com

Please email the above address if you are interested in helping, outlining the kind of work you do and how you could impact on this project.

We don’t have any funding but I will sort out ways of training and setting this up properly.

Thanks for reading,

Sean McGinty
BBC Introducing Lancashire

Discussion

One thought on “Red Rose Music Lancs – Like a phoenix…

  1. Wow! At last I got a website from where I know how to in fact get helpful information concerning my study and knowledge.

    Posted by free music promotion online | April 16, 2013, 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Red Rose Music Lancs

Red Rose Music Lancs blog is here to make things happen in Lancashire. If you want to get involved or be featured use the contact page and email us.

Red Rose Music Lancs Archive

Twitter Feed

