Album, Reviews

Every Effort Made’s Self Titled EP Review


Every Effort Made
are a pop-punk/indie four piece from Blackpool. With their EP, “Who Would Make Up Stories As Horrible As This?”, to be printed and released this month, they gave me a sneak preview and asked for my opinion.

Now, I prefer to review albums as a whole, rather than running through certain songs. Tha’s just how I roll, but Every Effort Made’s EP has made me change my style a little…

I was really impressed with the intro to the EP. With a simple, Oasis-style, high-in-treble guitar-played chord progression, along with a post mixed, under-layer of spoken vocals – of Dark Side of the Moon essence – I was left sat grinning, assuming I was going to hear something other than the ever popular pop-punk that smothers the Lancashire scene.

My grin was to come to an abrupt stop…

It was not to be replaced by a frown, but more a face of confuzzlement.

It’s not that the second track, “Trapped and Comfortable” is a bad track, it’s a very competent pop-punk song, but I just felt that it was too far a distance from the more original, more musically intelligent intro I had just been blessed with.

The third track, “Hours” added to my confusion, because it again strays away from its predecessor. A slower, more powerful song, it captured my attention more, feeling more original. The final songs on the 5 strong EP follow down the path of the more mainstream pop punk style.

I think there are very strong points to this album, but, in my opinion, it’s hindered by a few simple things.

The band has done well in finding two good singers in Bobby and Laura, as finding one is difficult enough and they have utilised this with a great use of harmonies. Furthermore, having a female singer in a pop punk band, they have managed to avoid sounding too much like Paramore; I would more so liken them to a milder version of Rise Against. The band has a very distinct sound in terms of production; guitar tones are consistent throughout and it’s clear that there is no power struggle in who has their instrument the loudest.

However, I have found that the EP is a little bit disjointed in terms of the actual song writing, it’s as if there is two different songwriters in the band, there may not be, but it feels that way. I preferred the more original, less pop punk parts of the album. It felt like something different.

Overall, I would say that the band won’t find it difficult in impressing people and finding avid followers, but I wouldn’t expect anything you haven’t heard before.

The stand out track for me was “Hours”. It’s got a great melody that will have the crowd anthemically singing along at the gig.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Red Rose Music Lancs

Red Rose Music Lancs blog is here to make things happen in Lancashire. If you want to get involved or be featured use the contact page and email us.

Red Rose Music Lancs Archive

Twitter Feed

